April 3, 2024

Hoboken Police honor seven of their own at a promotion ceremony

The Hoboken Police Department promoted four members to Lieutenant, and three to Sergeant, during a ceremony at City Hall today, April 3. Mayor Ravi S. Bhalla, Public Safety Director Ken Ferrante, and Police Chief Steven Aguiar joined the honorees, their families, and their colleagues to celebrate the accomplishments of the seven promoted officers.

Sergeants Ed Sellick, Alex Gonzalez, Luke Zeszotarski, and Josh Velez were promoted to the rank of Lieutenant. Detectives Tyler Soto and Ryan Houghton and Police Officer Michael Straten were promoted to Sergeant.  

“I congratulate all seven of the honorees today, on their well-deserved promotions,” said Mayor Bhalla. “I am proud to support, and am eternally grateful for, every single member of the Hoboken Police Department for their ongoing commitment to upholding safety and serving our community.”

“As we publicly honor and thank these seven brave men for their dedication today, we extend that gratitude to their families,” said Public Safety Director Ferrante. “Policing is not an easy job, but these new lieutenants and sergeants have not let that stop them from going above and beyond to keep Hoboken safe.”

“These seven individuals are leaders, mentors, and role-models, who I am proud to call my colleagues, partners, and brothers,” said Chief Aguiar. “These promotions and the quality of these candidates are a glimpse into the future of the Hoboken PD, and right now that future is bright.”

During the ceremony, the City and Police Department honored Lt. Walter “Wally” Wehrhahn, Ret. for five decades of service to Hoboken. Lt. Wehrhahn spent 36 years with the Hoboken Police Department earning five commendations for distinguished performance of duty. After retiring from HPD in 2010, he continued to serve the community in a civilian capacity, by managing the PD’s vehicle fleet.

Honoring Lt. Walter "Wally" Wehrhahn for 50 years of service
Lt. Ed Sellick
Lt. Alex Gonzalez
Lt. Luke Zeszotarski
Lt. Josh Velez
Sgt. Tyler Soto
Sgt. Michael Straten
Sgt. Ryan Houghton