June 28, 2024

Hoboken Police Department swears in eight new officers

The Hoboken Police Department swore in eight new Police Officers at a ceremony at City Hall on June 27, 2024.  

The new officers include Aidan Gonzalez, Alyssa Rivera, Zackary Guido, Carmen Benitez, John Lawton, Valentino Salgado, Jairo De La Cruz, and Ronald Kibitlewski. The recent graduates of the Hudson or Passaic County Police Academies signify the largest group of new officers to join the Hoboken Police ranks in recent years.  

"The future of the Hoboken Police Department is reflected in this new group of officers,” said Hoboken Mayor Ravi Bhalla. “I wish them all the best and look forward to watching them make their marks on the department, and the community.”

“We proudly welcome this diverse class of officers to our growing ranks,” said Public Safety Director Ferrante. “These eight individuals have been through tough and thorough training programs and are welcome additions to the best Police Department in the state.”

“I look forward to working with each of these fine new officers as they begin their journey in what I believe is the most rewarding career you can choose,” said Police Chief Aguiar. “I thank them all for stepping up to serve and protect the Hoboken community.”

The new officers begin four months of field training on Monday. Upon completion of the field training program, they will be assigned to the Department’s Uniform Patrol Bureau which responds to approximately 100,000 calls a year. The eight new officers bring Hoboken’s Police Department to 136 members.  

Police Officer Aidan Gonzalez
Police Officer Alyssa Rivera
Police Officer Zackary Guido
Police Officer Carmen Benitez
Police Officer John Lawton
Police Officer Valentino Salgado
Police Officer Jairo De La Cruz
Police Officer Ronald Kibitlewski