← Back to Departments Overview

Resilient Buildings Workshop

This resource will take you to a new site. Please click on the button below to access:
Resilient Buildings Workshop

Resilient Buildings Workshop

The City of Hoboken hosted a Resilient Buildings Workshop on October 13, 2021 to provide information about how residents can protect their buildings from flood damage and lower their flood insurance rates.

The virtual workshop began with a presentation from North Hudson Sewerage Authority (NHSA) regarding how they prepare for and respond to rainfall events, followed by a series of break-out sessions with technical experts to discuss resilient building strategies.

Presentations

Resilient Buildings Workshop - Agenda and Speakers

NHSA Hoboken Flood Risk Reduction Zoom Workshop

Video Recordings

Full Workshop, including NHSA Breakout Session

Additional Technical Resources Breakout Session

Financial Assistance Breakout Session (coming soon)

Resilient Buildings Workshop

Contact Info

Resilient Buildings Workshop

Resilient Buildings Workshop

The City of Hoboken hosted a Resilient Buildings Workshop on October 13, 2021 to provide information about how residents can protect their buildings from flood damage and lower their flood insurance rates.

The virtual workshop began with a presentation from North Hudson Sewerage Authority (NHSA) regarding how they prepare for and respond to rainfall events, followed by a series of break-out sessions with technical experts to discuss resilient building strategies.

Presentations

Resilient Buildings Workshop - Agenda and Speakers

NHSA Hoboken Flood Risk Reduction Zoom Workshop

Video Recordings

Full Workshop, including NHSA Breakout Session

Additional Technical Resources Breakout Session

Financial Assistance Breakout Session (coming soon)

Contact Information

City of Hoboken

Hurricane Ida Resources

Resiliency and Sustainability Projects

Jason Freeman

Business Administrator​

jfreeman@hobokennj.gov

Caleb Stratton, AICP, PP, CFM

Assistant Business Administrator & Chief Resiliency Officer​

cstratton@hobokennj.gov

Jennifer Gonzalez, AICP, PP, CFM, LEED GA

Director of Environmental Services & Chief Sustainability Officer​

jgonzalez@hobokennj.gov   ​

Yasmine Pessar, ENV SP

Environmental Planner & Project Manager ​

ypessar@hobokennj.gov  

NHSA

North Hudson Sewerage Authority

Combined Sewer Overflow (CSO) Long Term Control Plan

Dr. Richard Wolff

Executive Director

rwolff@nhudsonsa.com

Frederic J. Pocci, PE

Authority Engineer

fpocci@nhudsonsa.com

Donald Conger, PE

Operations and Maintenance Director

don.conger@jacobs.com

Phil Reeve, PE

Assistant Director and Collection System Manager

philip.reeve@jacobs.com

Technical Resources

Engineering

Boswell Engineering

Selwyn Joy, PE

sjoy@boswellengineering.com

Architecture

Nastasi Architects

John Nastasi, RA

info@nastasiarchitects.com

Landscape Architecture

Hufnagel Landscape Design & Construction Group, Inc.

Valerie Hufnagel, RLA

valeriehufnagel@gmail.com

Green Roofs

Live Roof

Michele Deery

michele@riverbendnursery.com

Flood Mitigation Devices

Orange Flood Control

Paul Garfinkel

p.garfinkel@orangefloodcontrol.com

Flood Insurance

Risk Reduction Group

E. Tyler Ardron, CFM

tardron@riskreductionplus.com

Flood Barriers

Floodproofing.com

Brian Shaw, CFM

bshaw@floodproofing.com

Note: The City of Hoboken cannot and does not recommend specific vendors. The speakers listed above presented at the Resilient Buildings Workshop as technical resources which shall not be considered a recommendation or endorsement.

Financial Assistance

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)

Individual Assistance

Bryan Miller

Bryan.Miller2@fema.dhs.gov

Small Business Assistance

Sandra Lawson

sandra.lawson@sba.gov

knowledge base: faqs



Does the Shade Tree Commission have a list of trees that they recommend for planting? View the approved list of tree species.

Who should trim the tree in front of my house? Please contact David Calamoneri.

I know of a tree that I believe is dying or is dangerous, who should I contact? Please contact David Calamoneri.

How do I become a volunteer for the Shade Tree Commission? Please contact Peter Bakarich III.

How do I apply to be a commissioner on the Shade Tree Commission? Submit an application for appointment to citizen advisory boards and commissions.

When does the Hoboken Shade Tree commission meet? Click here to view the meeting dates for 2015.

What are the benefits and reasons for planting trees in Hoboken? Read about 13 Reasons to plant trees.

How can I find out info on the tree(s) on my Street? View the Hoboken Tree Inventory.

No items found.